The Importance of Having a Plan

On multiple occasions, I have been told to relax and enjoy life because I am a planner. I love knowing exactly what my day/ week will look like that way I can prepare and anticipate how to use my time best. I probably could spend more time going with the flow but I really don’t want to. I like having a plan. I feel less stressed and can focus on what I need to at that moment.

In college especially, It is important to have a plan. An outline for the next 4 years will help ensure you graduate on time and you won’t be in for a shock at the end of sophomore year when it comes time to declare a major. As a freshman, I have mapped out what courses I’m gonna take every year until graduation to receive a major in Financial marketing and a minor in entrepreneurship (possibly a double minor but I haven’t decided yet). My plan as of now has me taking a few summer courses and possibly one or two winter courses and I could graduate in 3 years if I wanted to. This plan gives me a detailed outlook into my future and relieves stress that a lot of students start to feel during course registration.

The importance of the plan is just having it. It is okay if the plan changes or adapts to meet my needs because often times, life happens and plans need to change. A plan doesn’t have to be some step by step guide you follow to a tee but it is a helpful tool to organize your mind and keep stress to a minimum.

Jim Rohn said it best, “If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they have planned for you? Not much.”

This quote really sums up how I feel about planning. I have seen far too many examples of adults falling into someone else’s plan. They get stuck at a dead end job or lose the motivation to follow their own path. When this happens, it kills someone’s motivation and desire to achieve his or her goals. Never think that you can coast by on another persons plan because they aren’t worried about you and will dump you if the need arises. People are selfish and concerned  with themselves first and foremost.

Plans are a great way to stay on track, make a plan for the long-term that way you can keep your mind in the short term. Focus on the 24 hours you currently exist in and let the plan you made keep your mind at peace about the past and the future. A plan isn’t a binding agreement. It is simply an outline you want to follow.

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Having a Plan

    1. I never said anything about memorizing information, not sure where you got that from. I am simply suggesting that by having a plan, you have better chances at living a life you want to live rather than unhappy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

