Independence

Arguably my favorite part of college is being alone. By this, I don’t mean sitting alone and not talking to anyone (although that can be nice sometimes too). I am talking about the ability to do things alone. I like having the option to go to class alone, or go out to activities alone. In the past, activities were dictated around my friends schedules and whenever we could all been the same place at the same time. It’s nice to be able to do things on my own time and not have to worry about other peoples conflicts.

At home, whenever I wanted to go somewhere or do something I would ask my parents first, then coordinate when and where with my friends. This planning caused for a lot of conflicts and missing out on stuff because I was so concerned about others affairs. Now, If i wanna go somewhere, I go. If I wanna do something, I do it. Most importantly, if I don’t want to do something, I don’t have to. I love this freedom and enjoy the ability to do things on my term.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my home in Ellicott City and I love my family and friends there. But, I also love my college life and the independence it offers me. College is truly what you make of it. I enjoy the freedom to live on my own and the endless options I have for activities, events, and how to spend my free time.

I think college is really where the strong are separated from the weak. Those who want to succeed in school, will do it and will enjoy doing it. On the other hand, kids who come to school to party and drink, end up failing and sometimes dropping out. I get the partying is part of the fun but at the end of the day, I am here to learn and to be set up for success. My education will always come first and everything else can fit around this.

Leave a Reply

