Health and Fitness

Towards the end of my junior year of high school, I started exercising and eating healthy. At first, the transition into an active lifestyle was difficult and seemed like a chore. I didn’t look forward to working out every day and I missed junk food and all of its empty calories. This wasn’t the first time I had tried to change my fitness habits, but it was the last time. I say this because from that point on (and currently) I have lived a healthy lifestyle and enjoyed every second of it.

Even though at fist it was more like a chore than a hobby; exercise and nutrition are too of my favorite things to learn about and participate in. People who don’t live active lifestyles really don’t understand the benefits of it because it is hard to put into words (but ill do my best). The benefits I have come to love after changing to a healthy life are as follows…

  1. I wake up feeling energized and excited for the day
  2. I don’t get sick or headaches nearly as often as many other people
  3. I am able to do physical tasks faster and better than I ever have before
  4. When my body is energized, my brain is as well. Resulting in better grades as well as better physical performance.

These are only what I could come up with off the top of my head, but I’m sure there are a lot more. I used to be overweight and lazy and now, I look forward to physically demanding tasks and pushing myself to become better and stronger.

I have done a lot of reading on nutrition and exercise and theres a lot of information out there on the topic. It can seem overwhelming and daunting to embark on a lifestyle change of this nature. In reality it is pretty simple. Exercise (doesn’t matter the kind) for AT LEAST a half hour a day, and eat good food. Good food is…

  1. not processed
  2. not fried
  3. cooked naturally without added chemicals or flavors
  4. focus on natural products (fruits, veggies and meats)

After I adopted these habits I immediately felt healthier and happier. Following these will help you live a better life. If you want to lose weight, simply calculate your bar and eat less calories than you burn. But, its not always about losing weight, you can be healthier without worrying about the pounds. For me, I don’t worry about calories or fat or carbs as long s it is healthy. Sure avocados are high in fat, but its healthy fat. Bagels have a lot of carbs, but if I make that a whole wheat bagel, those are complex carbs that will fill you up and give lasting energy.

Life is all about choices. I choose to live a healthy lifestyle because of the positive effects it has had on my body and my mind. At this point, my health is a way of life, not a diet or fad. I am not training towards being a all-star athlete or working for 8 pack abs and a V taper (although it would be nice and is something I would love to work towards). I choose to live an active life because I want to, not to impress or look down on those who don’t. They say it takes 30 days to form a habit and 90 days to change a lifestyle. Changing to an active lifestyle is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Leave a Reply

